President and Vice President

The President of the Stiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz is prehistorian Prof. Dr. Hermann Parzinger. It has had three other presidents before him. Since 2011 the Vice President has been archaeologist Prof. Dr. Günther Schauerte.

Präsident Hermann Parzinger (öffnet Vergrößerung des Bildes)The President of the Stiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz, Prof. Dr. Hermann Parzinger © SPK / Götz Schleser

The fourth president of the Stiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz (Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation) is prehistorian Prof. Dr. Hermann Parzinger, who has held the office since 2008. An internationally renowned archaeologist and prehistorian, he has researched various aspects of early human history, including sedentarization and the emergence of mounted nomadism (Scythian culture), making sensational discoveries that have significantly extended knowledge in this area. His Office as President brings with it many tasks, of which the most important are representing the Foundation and implementing the decisions that the Foundation Board has taken in consultation with the Advisory Board. He is also responsible for managing all current business.

Parzinger is the nominal publisher of the Foundation's own publications such as the SPK Magazine, the yearbook, and individual publications on current topics relevant to the Foundation.

Since 2011, classical archaeologist Prof. Dr. Günther Schauerte has been Vice President of the Stiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz and thus Parzinger's deputy. He has an excellent track record as a culture and science manager in a number of positions. His area of scientific expertise concerns the ancient civilizations of the Near East.

Prof. Dr. Hermann Parzinger

Hermann Parzinger, a prehistorian and professor, has been President of the Stiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz since 2008. He still directs excavation and research projects and publishes regularly. He has received numerous awards. more

Former Presidents and Vice Presidents

Beginning in 1962, there are three former presidents of the Stiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz: Hans-Georg Wormit, Werner Knopp, and Klaus-Dieter Lehmann. There are two former vice presidents: Peter Hofmann and Norbert Zimmermann. more